Happy New Year Again!

by chrisrussodraws

I think this is even more belated than 2013’s New Year’s post. Oh well! Here’s a big ol’ sketchbook dump for you.

sketchbook6

sketchbook004

sketchbook003

sketchbook7

sketchbook8

studio

Lately I’ve been doing crayon copies of Vincent van Gogh landscapes, which has been a lot of fun. I want to do some Picasso copies next.

vangogh1

vangogh2

vangogh3

They inspired a couple of my own landscapes:

fuckin-meow

fuckin-meow-2

I think it might be fun to make a comic about this lil cat. Speaking of comics, I’ve been drawing a lot of cartoon characters:

VISIONFISH

witchsona

And here’s an extremely short story I wrote in my sketchbook with my brush pen:

write6

Anyway, this is going to be a big year for me! I’m getting ready to launch a webcomic, which I’m really, really excited about! It’s a story that’s been forming in my head for the better part of the past year or so, and it’ll be a sort of slice-of-life comic about a group of roommates with a lot of surreal horror thrown in. Maybe I’ll post a few drawings related to it later on, but either way, stick around for more news about it in the coming months.

