Hi, There!

by chrisrussodraws

Today is a very exciting day for me, because I have an interview!!

I’ve been running around trying to get all the art and design work I’ve ever done into one place to show, and trying to decide how to showcase the digital work I’ve done. Then I figured, what better way to do that than with a blog post? Not only do I have one place to show my work to the company I’m interviewing with, but it’s also a nice little “about me” sort of post and a summary of what I do for everyone out there that hasn’t been following me around on the internet for ages.

So hi, I’m Chris, I draw. A lot of my drawings are on my illustration website!

I generally work from scanned lineart and then color the images digitally. In particular, I draw a lot of portraits.

iamamiwhoami

iamamiwhoami

Fiona Apple

Fiona Apple

Thom Yorke

Thom Yorke

OutKast

OutKast

DIAMONDS_STILL

Rihanna

Ke$ha

Ke$ha

Björk

Björk

Jill Scott

Jill Scott

Especially animated portraits!

kesha_animation

bjork_animation

jillscott_animation

outkast_small

DIAMONDS_RESIZE

In fact, I’m pretty interested in internet culture, so I do a lot of animated GIFs.

BREATHLESS

Fiona Apple

Fiona Apple

HEART

britney_stronger

digletts

unicorns

Besides drawing, I’m also a designer! I don’t get to do it very often, but one of my favorite challenges is a project that lets me combine drawing and design.

ANIMATED-FLYER

GEEK TRIVIA POSTER_FINAL

I’d also love to do more editorial work. The immediate impact of a single, simple image really resonates with me.

drugs2

drugs1

teenagers

psychology today spread

I currently work for a publishing house, where I do book design for print and ebooks! The ebooks are particularly challenging, because we’re often working completely from scratch, especially for older books that never had digital files. I’m currently at work on a new, clean design portfolio site, but until then, I do have some examples of my work on Behance.

I also have lots of different kinds of artwork I’ve made on my own, more as a hobby than anything else.

I love drawing cartoons!

hatoful_okosan

fuckin-meow-2

VISIONFISH

I like making woodblock prints!

print_flamingos

print_paranoia

print_pigeon

I’ve dabbled in making patterns and fabrics!

snakes_color1

ice cream pattern_small

meat pattern 1 tiled

goody unicorns

unicorn fabric

And one of my absolute favorite artistic activities is figure drawing. Seriously, I will never get sick of it.

dnd3

chrisrusso_figure2

scan0011

figure3

So, that’s what I’m about! If you’re interested in seeing or learning more, check out my website, my behance, or send me an e-mail at: chrisrussodrawsthings@gmail.com

More than anything, I just love making things, and I’m gonna continue to make things, and post them here, and anywhere else I can. So thank you all for coming along c:

